Let freedom ring

I hope everyone has a great 4th!!  I happen to be working today…but that is OK, as soon as I get off, we are heading over to some friends for a hug cookout – fireworks….and plenty of entertainment for the kiddos.

 

Saturday a friend of mine Traci, and I made a cake and some cupcakes for the 4th.

We made marshmallow fondant…..it wasn’t that hard, just MESSY!!!  It had buttercream icing – and we colored the layers red, white and blue.

We ended up putting the stars flat on the cake – the cake was too tall to cover.  We put our piping skills to work and piped the stars in rows around the cake (very time consuming – but worth it!)

We added a fondant star to each of the cupcakes.  We died the batter blue, along with the icing – which is peanut butter, butter cream (YUM).

 

Hope everyone enjoys their day!!!

About amyt57

I'm a mom to 3 wonderful children, a wife to a awesome husband. I love to read blogs and have been doing so for a while. I started a blog on blogspot a while back - but haven't truly been happy with it - I have wanted a food blog, but do not what to blog about food 3 times a day. This is going to be a for real, in real life blog - as my daughter would say. It may have some recipes, I LOVE to cook....it may have some funny sayings my kiddos would say - it may have sports, weight lifting or tips - it's just going to be MY blog - just 'whatever' goes blog. "What would you guys like for dinner?" "CHICKEN NUGGETS!!!!"
This entry was posted in family, food, good times. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let freedom ring

  1. Cait's Plate says:

    Oh my – those are amazing!! That cake looks seriously unreal! You and your friend are super talented bakers! 🙂

  2. That cake is awesome! And looks delicious…which I had a slick RIGHT NOW.

  3. Ameena says:

    You are amazingly talented! Fondant? I can barely handle a knife and a container of Duncan Hines frosting. These are beautiful Amy!

Leave a Reply

